Unlike a shared hosting account where the data is backed up by the service provider, when you use a virtual or a dedicated hosting server you will have to keep manual backups as this type of a service is not provided by default. As superior as a web server could be, there's always a possibility that something may go wrong. For instance, you may delete some content by accident or a script-driven application could get corrupted after an update. In case you have a backup, you'll not have to concern yourself with this type of problems as the content can be easily restored. As it may not be very practical to do this all the time on your end, we offer an optional backup service for each of our hosting server plans and we will store a copy of your content on a separate machine to be certain that it is unharmed no matter what. With the upgrade, you can work on your web server without having to worry that you might lose any information due to any reason.